Super Falcons Battles South Africa:Squad Aims for Paris 2024 Qualification


Super Falcons Head Coach,Randy Waldrum,has unveiled a formidable squad for the crucial Paris Olympics final qualifying showdown against South Africa.The team features a strong mix of experience and youthful talent,primed to secure a coveted spot for Nigeria in the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament.

Seasoned veterans like captain Rasheedat Ajibade,African football icon Asisat Oshoala and goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie provide a stable core.They’re joined by promising players like defender Ashley Plumptre andmidfielder Deborah Abiodun,eager to make their mark on the international stage. The squad also benefits from the return of 2019 World Cup star Chidinma Okeke and the inclusion of forward Chiwendu Ihezuo. Notably,U-20 defender Shukurat Oladipo receives her first call-up,showcasing Coach Waldrum’s commitment to developing future stars.

This high-stakes two-legged tie against South Africa kicks off on April 5th at the MKO Abiola National Stadium in Abuja.The return leg follows on April 9th at the Loftus Versfeld Stadium in Pretoria. Victory will secure one of Africa’s coveted spots in the Olympics.

Coach Waldrum has assembled a squad boasting players from across the globe.From Atletico Madrid and Paris FC to the Houston Dash,these talented footballers bring international experience and a shared desire to represent Nigeria on the biggest stage.

Full list of invited players:Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); Linda Jiwuaku (Bayelsa Queens)

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico); Ashleigh Plumptre (Ittihad Ladies, Saudi Arabia); Shukurat Oladipo (FC Robo Queens); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Nicole Payne (Portland Thorns FC, USA); Chidinma Okeke (Mynavi Sendai Ladies, Japan)

Midfielders: Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA); Halimatu Ayinde (FC Rosengard, Sweden); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Jennifer Echegini (Juventus Ladies, Italy); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain)

Forwards: Omorinsola Babajide (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); Esther Okoronkwo (Changchun FC, China); Ifeoma Onumonu (SLC Utah, USA); Asisat Oshoala (Bay FC, USA); Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA); Gift Monday (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); Chiwendu Ihezuo (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.